|About the museum:
The outstandingly rich history and cultural heritage of Nin prompted experts to investigate, collect and keep objects, particularly in the 18th century. The idea for the ongoing collection of museum objects and preservation of monuments in Nin was put forward by Mihovil Glavinić at the end of the 19th century, when he placed monuments in the Church of Holy Cross. This practice was later continued by Luka Jelić, who in 1910 organised and opened the first collection of stone monuments in the Church of Holy Cross entitled “Antiquarian Collection”. In 1958-1959, the stone monuments from Holy Cross were moved to a building in Trg Kraljevac, which had been allocated to the Archaeological Museum in Zadar for the exhibition and keeping of monuments. It was from then that the many years of concern for and the whole supervision of the museum over the collection in Nin started; the exhibition was opened to the public in 1960 under the title of the Nin Regional Collection, the being changed in 2004 to the Collection of Nin Antiquities. With the contemporary new museological display, produced during the 1999 to 2004 period in the architecturally related museum complex, the history of Nin is shown in chronological order from the earliest times to the destruction of the city in 1646.