|About the museum:
Vinkovci Municipal Museum was founded on November 7, 1946. The basic holdings consisted of the purchased Mato Medvedović collection, added to somewhat later by the Matija Klajn archaeological collection and the donated Benko Horvat numismatic collection. The first display was produced in 1948, showing archaeological material. The museum moved into the current quarters in 1950, using only the first floor, but after fundamental conversion works, a permanent display was opened in 1952. The concept for the permanent display was “Man the Hunter and Fisherman”, the exhibits covering the period from pre-history to 1945. Today the complex composition of the museum contains the departments of archaeology, ethnology, history, fine arts and natural history with forestry; there is also a restoration workshop and a library with restricted access. From the first holdings until the present time the museum has collected a large number of heritage items via archaeological excavations, numerous purchases and to a slightly lesser extent by donations. Today the museum has no permanent display; there is an ongoing policy to open up department-level permanent displays. Visitors can see the display “Ethnology of Vinkovci and Environs”.